Showcasing your Media Center to Show 21st Century Relevance

Winnie Milner’s session, “Showcasing your Media Center to Show 21st Century Relevance”

Description: We all know that a media center has a lot to offer its patrons; however, getting others to understand its vast offerings and potential is not necessarily easy.  This session is devoted to going in-depth in ways to highlight the services you and your facility offer to the students, staff & community.  It will showcase a Prezi that I created to educate my school board and my administration.  It will also show simple ways to get the word out to students and staff using Facebook, PowerPoint, MS Publisher, QR codes, and basic video editing.

After the session, I hope attendees will learn to: make a media center publicity Prezi for their board of education & administration; make an all out publicity blitz for students and staff about resources using QR, PPTX, Glogster, etc. ; have new ideas to connect with students.

Pam K: I learned lots of ideas! as a result, I plan to implement many of the ideas!

Marilyn W.: I learned many new avenues for highlighting and promoting the library. As a result, I plan to use some of the ideas presented to incorporate them in my library.

Lila W.: I learned tons of stuff. As a result, I plan to go to her website and explore more.

Emily C.: I learned new Web 2.0 tools and ways to promote my library. As a result, I plan to write a grant for a display monitor for my library.

Rebecca P.: I learned how to better publicize my library program especially to students & school board. As a result, I plan to survey students about their “dream library” and create a Prezi of their ideas to administration to make changes.

Laura W.: I learned a lot of way to promote what’s going on in my library! As a result, I plan to look into the scrolling PPT idea; ask for time at a board meeting. Thanks!

Connie C.: I learned about new websites and new ideas. As a result, I plan to check things out and share with others. Was inspiring.

Becky B.: I learned about how to use Prezi to sell my media center. Some great ideas. As a result, I plan to work on putting a Prezi & powerpoint together to have to present to our board.

Amy M.: I learned how to better utilize the library media center to bring kids in. As a result, I plan to review my goals, develop a “State of a Library MC Address,” create a book presentation, Amazing Library Race, etc. Great Presentation!

Leave a Reply

